Forum Members section DIY Ferduino controller Ethernet module

Ethernet module  [SOLVED]

Ask here about your controller made with pieces purchased in other shops.

Post Number:#1 Post Sun Sep 25, 2016 5:59 pm
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
Hello
I want to connect this network adapter like this

Image

I can not understand where to connect the pin SS in the arduino mega

Post Number:#2 Post Sun Sep 25, 2016 6:06 pm
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

SS is Select Slave goes to pin 53.

Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#3 Post Mon Sep 26, 2016 8:44 am
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
but the 53-pin I am using it for the sd card

I could use a more different pin?

Post Number:#4 Post Mon Sep 26, 2016 10:26 am
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

The SD card SHOULD be connected on pin 4 as explained in many topics here.

viewtopic.php?f=24&t=41

Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#5 Post Tue Sep 27, 2016 8:50 am
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
OK, fine

but it would be possible to use another pin for the network card?

and leave the pin 53 for the sd card?

Post Number:#6 Post Tue Sep 27, 2016 1:10 pm
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

In fact is possible changing the code.

Use the pin 4 for SS because it can work in parallel with touch screen so, you will save a pin to another function.

In Ferduino tab, if do you have this variable uncommented:

USE_PIN_53_FOR_SD_CARD


Only check if your code is like this:

#ifdef USE_PIN_53_FOR_SD_CARD
const byte SelectSlave_ETH = 4;


If your version haven't the lines above change your code to:

const byte ChipSelect_SD = 53;
const byte SelectSlave_ETH = 4;


Keeping the pins according to default code helps to upgrade when a new version is available. For it I told to connect the SD card to pin 4 and ethernet to pin 53.

Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#7 Post Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:28 pm
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
so if instead of pin 4 in the Select Slave ETH you can for example use a free pin right?

const byte ChipSelect_SD = 53;
const byte SelectSlave_ETH = (pin free);


thank you

Post Number:#8 Post Tue Sep 27, 2016 4:34 pm
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Yes, it's right but you will lose a pin that can be used to another function as I told.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#9 Post Wed Sep 28, 2016 8:50 am
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
This works because the ethernet library has been modified by you right?
because I have upgraded your library via IDE 1.6.9 and does not work anymore
if you get back your library back to work

Post Number:#10 Post Wed Sep 28, 2016 9:24 am
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

Yes, it's a custom library.

Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#11 Post Sun Oct 16, 2016 11:42 am
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
connected all right but with the small network adapter gives me:

please insert a SD Card

Image



if you put the shield network card works well doing same links them


Image

Post Number:#12 Post Sun Oct 16, 2016 2:42 pm
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

Use the codes for test to make the ethernet module and SD card to work separatelly. Then the example "Simple Web server running on SD card".

Maybe is needed change the speed on setup.

while (!SD.begin(ChipSelect_SD, SPI_HALF_SPEED))


Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.

Post Number:#13 Post Sun Oct 16, 2016 4:30 pm
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
I found this article on the internet could be the problem that this network module does not work with the sd card

https://www.itead.cc/blog/how-to-make-w5100-module-work-with-sd-card-module

Post Number:#14 Post Fri Oct 21, 2016 5:59 pm
Posts: 101
Topics: 22
Solve rating: 0
Joined: Wed Sep 10, 2014 7:07 pm
Topics: 22
Age: 49
Gender: None specified
National Flag:
Italy
It could be the problem ????

Post Number:#15 Post Sat Oct 22, 2016 9:52 am
Posts: 1699
Topics: 38
Images: 301
Solve rating: 233
Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 5:59 pm
Topics: 38
Age: 39
Location: São Paulo
Gender: Male
National Flag:
Brazil

Hi!

Can you make the tests suggested above and show me results first please?

Best regards.
Post your doubts on forum because it can help another user too. Just PM me for support if it's absolutely necessary.




Return to DIY Ferduino controller





Who is online

Users viewing this topic: No registered users and 1 guest

cron